Ultron's Imperative

Q: If I only have one card left in my deck, do I still put two cards facedown for Ultron's Imperative?

A: Yes. Put the second drone into play after reshuffling your deck and dealing yourself a facedown encounter card. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)

Biomechanical Upgrades

Q: Can Biomechanical Upgrades be attached to a face-down Ultron drone?

A: Yes, the Ultron Drones card gives each facedown drone minion engaged with a player base stats of 1/1/1. Base stats can also be interpreted as printed. The key is that you are not counting modifiers that give “+ stats.” -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)

Assault on NORAD

Q: If threat is prevented from being placed on the main scheme Assault on NORAD in step one of the villain phase, does the Forced Response still trigger? (e.g. She-Hulk Alter-Ego Ability)

A: No. Because the triggering condition did not occur, any responses to that triggering condition also would not occur. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)


Q: At what step in the attack sequence does Ultron Stage 2’s Forced Interrupt trigger?

A: Ultron Stage 2’s ability triggers immediately after he initiates his attack. That happens before defenders are declared. So the original target always gets the drone. (Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)

Q: Does Ultron Stage 2's attack get modified if, for instance, a boost results in a drone entering play?

A: Yes, if the number of drone minions engaged with you changes before Ultron’s attack resolves, then you will recalculate Ultron’s attack as a result. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)

Q: I’m being attacked by Ultron Stage 2 and Nova is in play. Which interrupt triggers first?

A: The Forced Interrupt triggers before you can trigger a player Interrupt. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)


Q: If Ultron Stage 3 is in play and there are drone minions in play, will actions that deal damage to all enemies (like Energy Daggers or Ground Stomp) do damage to Ultron?

A: No. Ultron’s invulnerability is absolute, which means any damage that would be dealt to him would be cancelled while drone minions are in play.

Note that this holds even if that action would remove all drone minions from play; since all damage is dealt simultaneously, and the drone minions are in play when the damage is dealt, the damage would not be dealt to Ultron Stage 3. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)

Q: If I kill the last drone with Overkill, will the excess damage deal damage to Ultron Stage 3?

A: Overkill will work because it defeats the minion first and then excess damage is applied to the villain. -(Developer Ruling, Hall of Heroes)